Madison Township

 "Ohio's Largest Township"

2065 Hubbard Road
Madison, Lake County, Ohio 44057
(440) 428-5128 Office
(440) 428-2116 Police Non-emergency
Administrative Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8:00-4:30

Community ProgramsMonthly Activity ReportPress ReleasesGalleryCommend an Officer

Police Department/Dial 9-1-1 for Emergencies

Chief of Police
Matthew Byers


Police Administration Hours:
Monday through Friday-8:00AM to 4:30PM
(440) 428-2116 Phone                                                                 
(440) 428-2825 Fax




A Brief History of the Madison Township Police District

When Madison Township was established in 1811, Luke Bonesteel was appointed as Constable, establishing the first law enforcement presence in the area.  This was 29 years prior to the founding of Lake County, Ohio.  For the next 155 years this constabulary, with the assistance of the Lake County Sheriff's Office, served as the only Law Enforcement in Madison Township.

As population increased in the 1950's the residents recognized a need for an increased law enforcement presence.  In 1958 the Board of Trustees appointed the first Chief Constable, Elmer Wargelin.  This part-time position was to be rotated each year to a different constable on staff.

In 1961 the first full-time Chief Constable, Charles Welsh, was appointed.  He also served as the Township's Zoning Inspector.

Fifty years ago this month, September 13, 1966, the Madison Township Board of Trustees passed a resolution establishing the Madison Township Police District.  In October of that year a motion was passed by the board appointing, Charles Welsh as the first Chief of the Police District, Clarence Albanese as Lieutenant and James Whipple, Elmer Wargelin, E. Carson Rogers and Francis Horvath as patrolmen.

Fifty years later, the largest geographical township in Ohio is home to over 18,000 residents.  Madison Township is served by a police department of 17 full-time officers (down from a high of 21), 6 part-time officers, 8 dispatchers, and 1 clerk.  The department maintains a full-time detective bureau and a 24 hour dispatch center.

In 2015, the Madison Township Police Department handled 15,418 calls for service, wrote 2,090 incident reports, and made 1,476 total arrests including 123 felony arrests.

While entering into the next 50 years of service, the Madison Township Police Department remains committed to the safety of its residents and grateful for the support this community has always provided.

Madison Township Police Department Celebrates 50 Years of Service. Current Police Officers & former Madison Township Police Officers attending the 50th Anniversary Celebration of the Madison Township Police Department.

Madison Township patrol officer Shawn McClure (shown on the left) was recognized by Chief Byers and the Board of Madison Trustees at the March 8, 2016 Trustees Regular Meeting.  Ptl. McClure received a Life Saving Award from the Lake County Chiefs of Police Association for an incident that occurred in December of 2015.
Lori Cook, Safety Advisor for AAA East Central Safety Department, presents Chief Matthew Byers and the Madison Township Police Department with the 2015 Bronze Award.  The award is based on Community Traffic Safety.  The award from AAA recognizes dedication to preserving lives through traffic safety programming and education.
The Board of Madison Township Trustees honored and presented Officers Shannon, Sharp, and Anderson their Life Saving Citation Awards that were awarded by the Lake County Chiefs of Police Association. Police Chief Matthew Byers submitted a letter of nomination to the Awards Committee of the Lake County Police of Chiefs Association in recognition of a service call the officers responded to on July 30, 2015.

Madison Township Noise Resolution #00-054
Lake Co. Sheriff's Office - Press Release - REVERSE 9-1-1 (The Reverse9-1-1 system is used for emergency situations, such as an Amber Alert for a missing person in the area; major flooding issues; or public safety concerns.  Lake County residents can register their cell phones with the Lake County Emergency Management Agency at

Chief Byers urges residents to lock the doors to their vehicles and home.  If you hear or see anything suspicious, call 9-1-1.
Please avoid all distractions when driving.  It's a law-Don't Text & Drive.
Remember that when the power is out at an intersection, all vehicles must stop as if at a stop sign.
If a light is flashing RED, you must STOP.
If a light is flashing YELLOW, you must proceed with CAUTION.
If your windshield wipers are on, your headlights must be on. It's a law.

Ohio's Child Safety Seat Law
A child must ride in a child safety seat until they are 4 years old AND weigh at least 40 pounds.
Children ages 4-8 must use a booster seat until they reach 4'9".
Children 8 and up must use an adult seat belt.

For more information on Ohio's Child Safety Seat Law, please click on the picture.

The current Civil Service Commission and their terms are as follows:

           Commission Board Member Term Expires:
Wendy Gluvna 03/10/15 to 03/10/17
Evan Francis 03/10/15 to 03/10/19
Jason Fairchild 03/10/15 to 03/10/21



 2017 MINUTES  
February 8, 2017 Regular Meeting