top of page

Contact Info

Zoning Inspector                                                                                           Asst Zoning Inspector

Max Ungers                                                                                                     Christopher Bernard

Phone:(440) 428-1120                                                                                   Phone (440) 834-2764

Fax: (440) 428-1371                                                                                            Fax: (440) 428-1371

Email:mu[email protected]                         Email: [email protected]

What's New:

We are excited to announce our new online interactive zoning map! This will help residents determine the current zoning for any parcel within the township. In addition to providing the current zoning, the map will provide links to the current zoning text and even show if there are any current zoning permits.  Feel free to check out the map using the link below.

**Please note:  Some layers are scale dependent, you may need to zoom in to view all layers.

A friendly reminder regarding signs within Madison Twp.

Anyone wishing to erect a sign within Madison Twp. needs to call the Zoning Dept. to discuss their project. Please note any temporary sign placed within the right of way is in violation of Section 128.9.12 of the Madison Twp. Zoning Resolution and will be removed by the zoning inspector. (These signs typically include, but not limited to, signs advertising a business or offering a service.) These signs will be removed and held for 7 days at the township hall for you to retrieve.  After 7 days they will be discarded. If you wish to retrieve your sign please call the zoning dept. to set up an appointment to pick it up.

Zoning Resolution and Map


Additional Zoning Information

Need assistance to rehab your home?  Lake County Housing Rehabilitation Program may be able to provide some assistance.  Click the link below to see if you qualify.

Lake County Housing Rehabilitation Program Brochure

In an effort to better meet the needs of our residents, the zoning dept. is now offering after-hours appointments and digital submissions.  See the info below for details.

Meeting Minutes

  • If you require an after-hours appointment you can email [email protected] or call 440-834-2764 to schedule an appointment.

  • Now accepting digital zoning application submissions.  Email your completed application here [email protected] and someone from our office will contact you to review your application and to discuss the next steps.

Brief History of Madison Township Zoning

On August 1, 1957, the Board of Madison Township Trustees, Milton Nichols, John Ritola and Allen Beebe unanimously passed a resolution adopting zoning in Madison Township and ordering an election. The resolution stated that the Board of Madison Township Trustees hereby approves and put before the electors of Madison Township the question of whether or not the proposed plan of zoning shall be put into effect in the unincorporated area of Madison Township. The approval for Township Zoning went on the ballot at the General Election of November 5, 1957. At that General Election of 1957, the residents of Madison Township approved zoning within the township. The Board of Township Trustees immediately implemented zoning in the township. At the Board of Township Trustees Meeting of November 9, 1957 they appointed the first Zoning Inspector, Mr. George Spear, who was paid $150.00 a month to enforce the new Zoning Resolution.

There are two Boards that regulate the Zoning Resolution: the Zoning Commission and the Board of Zoning Appeals. Both of the Boards are comprised of five members who are appointed by the Madison Township Board of Trustees and serve staggered five-year terms, which expires on December 31st.

Board of Zoning Appeals

Board of Zoning Appeals Members:                      Term Expires:

                                                                       (December 31st of 2024)                                                                                                                      

Thomas Sill - Chairman                                                  2024

Joseph Boyle                                                                  2025

Thomas Brass - Secretary                                               2026

Bill Dubiel - Vice-Chairman                                            2027

Lora Diak                                                                          2028

Evan Francis - Alternate

The Board of Zoning Appeals meets on an "as needed" basis, usually on the second Thursday of the month at 7:00 pm in the Township Administration Building. Board of Zoning Appeals Minutes are posted after they are approved at the following meeting.

Zoning Commission

Zoning Commission Board Member:                          Term Expires: 

                                                                 (December 31st of 2024)


Jeff Hyrne                                                                 2024

John Witt - Chairman                                              2025

Bob Diak - Vice-Chairman                                       2026

Audra Wisniowski - Secretary                                  2027

Randy Rothlisberger                                                 2028

The Zoning Commission meets once a month on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Township Administration Building. Commission Meeting Minutes are posted after they are approved at the following meeting. 





bottom of page